Donny McCaslin, Ashley Henry and Laura Jurd's Dinosaur among Jazz FM Awards nominees

Wednesday, March 1, 2017

The nominees for the fourth Jazz FM Awards have been announced, with the final winners set to be unveiled at an awards show on 25 April at Under The Bridge, Chelsea.

Spotlighting leading names from the UK alongside international talent there will be special awards for revered Brit-jazz singer Georgie Fame who will receive the PPL Lifetime Achievement Award, while La La Land and Whiplash director Damien Chazelle will receive the Impact Award for the 'impact his work is having on bringing jazz to wider audiences'.

Public voting is now open for three categories (see below) and will close on 31 March. The awards are produced in partnership between Jazz FM and Serious and with the support of Mishcon De Reya, Rathbones, Pollitt & Partners, Oris Watches, Grange Hotels, RCS, Denbies Wine Estate, Arqiva, Fever Tree, Yamaha and PPL.

The full list of 2017 nominees is: Breakthrough Act Of The Year: Ashley Henry; Nubya Garcia; Yussef Kamaal. International Jazz Artist Of The Year: Brad Mehldau; Donny McCaslin; Robert Glasper. Vocalist Of The Year: Carleen Anderson; Norma Winstone; Polly Gibbons. Instrumentalist Of The Year: Nikki Yeoh; Gwilym Simcock; Tim Garland. International Blues Artist Of The Year: Bonnie Raitt; Eric Bibb; The Rolling Stones. International Soul Artist Of The Year: Jordan Rakei; Laura Mvula William Bell. Jazz Innovation Of The Year: Darcy James Argue; Jaimeo Brown; Moon Hooch. Digital Initiative Of The Year: Dave Douglas – Greenleaf Music; Gilles Peterson – Worldwide FM; Jaimeo Brown – Transcendence: Work Songs. Album Of The Year (Public Vote): Anderson Paak – Malibu; Donny McCaslin – Beyond Now; Gregory Porter – Take Me To The Alley; Kurt Elling – The Beautiful Day; Madeleine Peyroux – Secular Hymns; The Rolling Stones – Blue & Lonesome. UK Jazz Act Of The Year (Public Vote): Dinosaur; Shabaka Hutchings; Soweto Kinch. Live Experience Of The Year (Public Vote): Ashley Henry Trio at Jazz Re:Fest, Royal Festival Hall; Cory Henry & The Funk Apostles, Glee Club Birmingham; Orphy Robinson All Stars, St James the Great; Roberto Fonseca Trio, Sage Gateshead; Wayne Shorter Quartet, Barbican; Julian Argüelles with Frankfurt Radio Big Band, Django Bates & Steve Argüelles, Cheltenham Jazz Festival.

– Mike Flynn

For more info and to cast your votes visit

Subscribe from only £49.50 per year

Start your journey and discover the very best music from around the world.


View the Current

Take a peek inside the latest issue of Songlines magazine.

Find out more