Nominees Announced For Parliamentary Jazz Awards

Mike Flynn
13 August 2019

Claire Martin, Sons of Kemet and Kevin Le Gendre among the hopefuls

The names have been revealed for this year’s Parliamentary Jazz Awards, with the winners to be announced at an awards ceremony at PizzaExpress Live, Holborn, on 3 December.

The shortlists of names, initially chosen through an online public vote, has been selected by a panel of jazz experts and professionals with a wide knowledge of and passion for the music. The winners will be chosen by the judging members of the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group (APPJAG), which is comprised of 80 members from the House of Commons and House of Lords across all political parties.

Reflecting the diversity and depth of the current British jazz scene across nine categories the nominees are:

Jazz Vocalist of the YearClaire Martin, Georgia Mancio, Cherise Adams-Burnett and Zoe Gilby.
Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year: Brian Kellock, Nikki Iles, Jason Rebello and Josephine Davies.
Jazz Album of the Year: Sons of KemetYour Queen Is A Reptile; Adrian CoxProfoundly Blue; Fergus McCreadieTuras and Jean ToussaintBrother Ray.
Jazz Ensemble of the Year: Ezra Collective, London Vocal Project and Gareth Lockrane Big Band. Jazz Newcomer of the Year: Xhosa Cole;
Fergus McCreadie and Luca Manning.
Jazz Venue of the YearMarsden Jazz Festival, Bebop Club (Bristol), Watermill Jazz Club (Dorking) and Verdict Jazz Club (Brighton).
Jazz Media Award: Jazzwise magazine, Kevin Le Gendre and Ian Mann (Jazzmann website).
Jazz Education AwardPete Churchill, Jamil Sheriff and Nikki Iles.
Services to Jazz Award: Henry Lowther, John Fordham and Cleo Laine.

For more info visit

Subscribe from only £49.50 per year

Start your journey and discover the very best music from around the world.


View the Current

Take a peek inside the latest issue of Songlines magazine.

Find out more