Bandcamp donates 100% of sales to artists and labels during Covid-19 pandemic


Online music company which allows artists to sell direct to fans waives all fees on 20 March to help cash-strapped musicians reeling from effects of virus outbreak

Bandcamp is donating 100% of sales to artists today
Bandcamp is donating 100% of sales to artists today

 

Bandcamp is to waive all fees and its revenue share – typically around 10 to 15 per cent –on all purchases made today, Friday 20 March, between midnight and midnight Pacific Time (that’s 7am GMT on Friday until 7am on Saturday in the UK), putting some much-needed extra cash directly into artists’ pockets.

“The Covid-19 pandemic is in full force, and artists have been hit especially hard as tours and shows are being cancelled for the foreseeable future,” said Bandcamp CEO and co-founder Ethan Diamond. “With such a major revenue stream drying up almost entirely, finding ways to continue supporting artists in the coming months is now an urgent priority for anyone who cares about music and the artists who create it.

“For many artists, a single day of boosted sales can mean the difference between being able to pay rent or not. Still, we consider this just a starting point. Musicians will continue to feel the effects of lost touring income for many months to come, so we’re also sharing some ideas below on how fans can support the artists they love and how artists can give fans new, creative ways to provide support.

“It may sound simple, but the best way to help artists is with your direct financial support, and we hope you’ll join us on Friday and through the coming months as we work to support artists in this challenging time.”

Jazz labels which use Bandcamp as a means of getting their music straight to fans include:

Babel Label (www.babel-label.bandcamp.com)

Corbett vs. Dempsey (www.corbettvsdempsey.bandcamp.com)

ECM (www.ecmrecords.bandcamp.com)

Edition Records (www.store.editionrecords.com)

Glitterbeat (www.glitterbeat.bandcamp.com)

Greenleaf (www.bandcamp.greenleafmusic.com)

Hubro (www.hubromusic.bandcamp.com)

Intakt (intaktrec.bandcamp.com)

International Anthem (www.intlanthem.bandcamp.com)

Jazzland (jazzlandrecordingsnorway.bandcamp.com)

No Business nobusinessrecords.bandcamp.com

Nonesuch (nonesuchrecords.bandcamp.com)

Rare Noise (rarenoise.bandcamp.com)

Ropeadope (downloads.ropeadope.com/artists)

Ubuntu (ubuntumusic1.bandcamp.com/music)

Whirlwind Recordings (music.whirlwindrecordings.com)

Artist Links

Alina HipHarp – https://alinahipharp.bandcamp.com/releases

Dr Rubberfunk – https://drrubberfunk.bandcamp.com/

Steve Lawson – https://stevelawson.bandcamp.com/

AuB – https://aubmusic.bandcamp.com/

Vanessa Perica - https://vanessaperica.bandcamp.com

Subscribe from only £49.50 per year

Start your journey and discover the very best music from around the world.

Subscribe

View the Current
Issue

Take a peek inside the latest issue of Songlines magazine.

Find out more