Previously unheard Ella Fitzgerald live at the Hollywood Bowl album - first single features animated video for ‘Puttin’ On The Ritz’

Kevin Whitlock
Friday, May 13, 2022

A full live concert of First Lady Of Song’s classic album … Sings The Irving Berlin Songbook is set to be released on 24 June

Ella at the Newport Jazz Festival 1957 (c) Paul Hoeffler CTSIMAGES courtesy UNIVERSAL MUSIC
Ella at the Newport Jazz Festival 1957 (c) Paul Hoeffler CTSIMAGES courtesy UNIVERSAL MUSIC

On 16 August 1958, just a few months after Ella Fitzgerald recorded her now-classic album, Ella Fitzgerald Sings The Irving Berlin Songbookjazz’s ‘First Lady Of Song’ performed selections from that album live at the Hollywood Bowl to a sold-out crowd. Conducted and arranged by Paul Weston, who also arranged and conducted the studio sessions, this concert marked the only time that Ella performed these iconic arrangements live with a full orchestra. 

On 24 June Verve/UMe will release the full, never-before-released 15-song performance, Ella At The Hollywood Bowl: The Irving Berlin Songbookon CD, vinyl, limited edition yellow splatter vinyl, and digitally. This landmark record, discovered in the private collection of producer and Verve Records founder Norman Granz, marks the first time a live Songbook has been released from Ella, says Verve. It is also significant in that it captures the only time Ella worked in concert with Weston. And, although she performed regularly at the Hollywood Bowl, this is the first full-length concert by Ella from this iconic venue to be released (notably, Ella was featured prominently on Verve’s Jazz At The Hollywood Bowl album, recorded and released in 1956, the year Granz formed the label). The live tracks were mixed from the original ¼” tapes by Grammy Award-winning producer and musician Gregg Field who played drums for Ella in her later years. The album is rounded out with liner notes about the concert and Ella’s Songbook series by noted author, Will Friedwald

The full tracklisting is as follows:

  1. The Song Is Ended
  2. You’re Laughing at Me
  3. How Deep Is the Ocean
  4. Heat Wave
  5. Suppertime
  6. Cheek to Cheek
  7. Russian Lullaby
  8. Top Hat White Tie and Tails
  9. I’ve Got My Love to Keep Me Warm
  10. Get Thee Behind Me Satan
  11. Let’s Face the Music And Dance
  12. Always
  13. Puttin’ on the Ritz
  14. Let Yourself Go
  15. Alexander’s Ragtime Band

Ella At The Hollywood Bowl: The Irving Berlin Songbook is available to pre-order now and is being previewed with a rendition of ‘Puttin’ On The Ritz’, debuting today - see the video below


Subscribe from only £6.75

Start your journey and discover the very best music from around the world.


View the Current

Take a peek inside the latest issue of Jazzwise magazine.

Find out more