Parliamentary Jazz Awards 2020 Nominations Announced

The nominees have been announced for the prestigious All Party Parliamentary Jazz Awards, with the winners to be revealed on 30 June

Awards Nominees L-R: Byron Wallen, Cherise Adams-Burnett and Alexandra Ridout
Awards Nominees L-R: Byron Wallen, Cherise Adams-Burnett and Alexandra Ridout

Organised by the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group (APPJAG) with the support of PizzaExpress Live, the nominees were selected via a public vote with the final short list voted on by a selection panel comprised of jazz industry experts and professionals with a shared passion for a broad range of jazz styles. The winners, chosen by judging members of the APPJAG, will be announced at 8.30pm on Tuesday 30 June 2020

Commenting on the short list John Spellar MP, Co-Chair of APPJAG, said: “These shortlists demonstrate the wealth of talent and commitment that exists in the British jazz scene. Now in its 15th year, the Parliamentary Jazz Awards honours the best of British jazz. MPs and Peers in the All Party Group are delighted to host another ceremony at Pizza Express Live and we are extremely grateful to PizzaExpress Live for supporting the event.”

The full list of nominees is as follows:

Jazz Vocalist of the Year

Georgia Mancio

Cherise Adams-Burnett

Lianne Carroll

Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year

Sarah Tandy

Rob Luft

Liam Noble

Nubya Garcia

Jazz Album of the Year

Seed Ensemble Driftglass

Yazz Ahmed Polyhymnia

Kate Williams Four Plus Three meets Georgia Mancio Finding Home

Jazz Ensemble of the Year

Byron Wallen’s ‘Four Corners’

Seed Ensemble

Dave O’Higgins/Rob Luft Quartet

Nikki Iles Big Band

Jazz Newcomer of the Year

Luca Manning

Rosina Bullen

Alexandra Ridout


Jazz Venue of the Year

Colchester Arts Centre Jazz Club

PizzaExpress Jazz Club

606 Club

Jazz Media Award

Jazzwise Magazine

Corey Mwamba Freeness radio show

London Jazz News website

Jazz Views website

Jazz Education Award

UK Summer School

Jon Eno

Nick Smart

Services to Jazz Award

Steve Rubie

Blow The Fuse

Mike Westbrook

For more info visit


Subscribe from only £49.50 per year

Start your journey and discover the very best music from around the world.


View the Current

Take a peek inside the latest issue of Songlines magazine.

Find out more