Winners of Parliamentary Jazz Awards 2019 Announced

Revealing this year's winners of the Parliamentary Jazz Awards, from Jazz Album of the Year to Newcomer of the Year

The recipients of the 2019 Parliamentary Jazz Awards were announced on Tuesday 3 December with the 10 categories representing the diversity of the UK’s jazz scene.

Organised by the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group (APPJAG), and presented at the PizzaExpress Live in Holborn, the awards presenters included British politicians and UK musicians including APPJAG co-chairs Kelvin Hopkins and Lord Colwyn, and jazz industry figures Jon Newey, Deirdre Cartwright, Danielle White, Steve Crocker, Simon Cooke, Gary Crosby OBE, Kevin Le Gendre and Baroness Coussins.

The winners are: 

Jazz Vocalist of the Year: Zoe Gilby

Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year: Josephine Davies

Jazz Album of the Year: Fergus McCreadie's Turas

Jazz Ensemble of the Year: Ezra Collective

Jazz Newcomer of the Year: Xhosa Cole

Jazz Venue of the Year: Watermill Jazz, Dorking

Jazz Media Award: Ian Mann, The Jazz Mann

Jazz Education Award: Nikki Iles

Services to Jazz Award: Dame Cleo Laine

Special APPJAG Award: Henry Lowther

For more info visit

Subscribe from only £49.50 per year

Start your journey and discover the very best music from around the world.


View the Current

Take a peek inside the latest issue of Songlines magazine.

Find out more